Welcome, Member
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC:

Swans season review 2021 4 weeks 2 hours ago #212704

  • mikeh
  • mikeh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 6129
  • Thank you received: 1698
Reflecting on Swans season, they have certainly taken a big step forward on their way to being a consistent contender for finals. With 10 wins and 9 losses (including the final that they came so close to winning) . The biggest victory was 52 points v Peel in round 15 and the biggest loss was 44 points against West Perth. They were only beaten by 6 goals plus on two occasions so they were a lot harder to play against. Even though they were a lot more competitive this year against “the perennial big four of the league”  they still only managed to win 1 out of a possible 9 games against this group ( by 1 point vs Subiaco). The real killer though was the defeat late in the season at Shark Park because that cost us a chance to push for a home final or double chance which would have made a huge difference in the finals.

Swans strengths this year revolved around their defensive unit led by Notte, Howard, Jones, Erceg Stephens and Beck with Spackman also showing a lot of promise until injured. A serviceable midfield led by Fisher, Anderson, Turner, Cipro, Reidy and Clarke. Germs was the discovery of the year and slotted into the league team seamlessly in the absence of Gault.

The forward line was a lot more functional compared with previous years with new recruit Palmer (35 goals), Noble (24), Edwards (18) and Wilson (15) all contributing as well as some of the mids in the 10 – 15 goal range. I still think our goal kicking output has room for improvement in 2022.The other promising sign in 2021 was that all 3 grades made the finals although we are 0-4 so far in the finals series and only the Colts are left to improve that statistic.

2022 will present new challenges for the club as we already know that we have lost 3 players in Matt Riggio and Alex Howard to retirement and Frank Anderson to the dreaded ACL.

Along with this there are some questions marks about Tony Notte, Lewis Jetta and Corey Gault.So that could be 6 quality players who may be missing next year. Not sure if Costigan is still at the club but if he is hopefully his luck will turn and he can get some injury free footy next year.

The club will probably need to do some targeted recruitment in the off season to bolster the defence and midfield and also the hope is that some of the successful colts players will be able to graduate to the league level.

I have said this a few times but I reckon Swans best footy is as good as anyones. The difference between us and the Subiaco’s, Claremonts etc is that we cannot sustain this level for as long as they can. That must be the focus of pre- season going into 2022 and we might just start winning against these top 4 teams a bit more often.

Interested in others observations or if I have missed anything
The following user(s) said Thank You: Beasley Hutton, Grump, Dingo, Blackduck, gtrxuone

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by mikeh.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212717

  • Viper
  • Viper's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 410
  • Thank you received: 29
8 weeks ago many wanted Pickers' head ... Is that still the case or has making finals changed their mind? Some will say he's off the hook, others will say he's still shit but many had plenty to say on his re-appointment.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Viper.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212719

  • Beasley Hutton
  • Beasley Hutton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 8843
  • Thank you received: 2603
Mike I think you have pretty much nailed it with your summary of the season just finished, I cant add much more.
There are certain positions that we need to find players to fill that we dont necessarily have at the club at the moment or still developing- eg with Frank out for next season we will need another quality mid or 2 especially one with genuine leg speed, a genuine goalkicking small forward (although I would give Jamo Ugle a crack there) and possibly a key back to help Jones & Erceg especially if Tony does pull the pin.

 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Beasley Hutton.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212722

  • BC
  • BC's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 8070
  • Thank you received: 1306
Given all 3 grades made the finals and the club has consolidated its financial position, I think you Swannies boys should be very satisfied with the year. From an outsider looking in, 2021 should give you a very solid base to launch into next season both on and off the field.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212724

  • Bazza
  • Bazza's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 9962
  • Thank you received: 947
Thanks to my SDFC mate for coming down to Fremantle again this year, he always enjoys it and considers it the best away game to attend mainly do to the before and after game pubs around town. Was also good to have a chat and drink with the convivial SDFC supporters that tagged along afterwards with him.

See you again next year Mcgowan willing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212735

  • MarkOlsen
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 3046
  • Thank you received: 498
Great review Mike.
Costigan back to Vic
At least one eastern stater on the way, hopefully a mid after poor old Frank’s injury
Watson and Collins should be on board after delisting and I think Pasini also coming back from Port
Jetta unlikely
Gault still not sure
Notte wait and see
Club was looking to add some pace from somewhere but every club would like quick mids/forwards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212739

  • mikeh
  • mikeh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 6129
  • Thank you received: 1698
Viper in relation to Pickering, I must admit that I have had my doubts about him but the results this year speak for themselves. From what I have seen at the ground, the players seem to be on board with his message and the power brokers at the club certainly believe that he is the man for the job so really who am I to question his coaching? I guess the challenge now is to keep raising the bar for improvement as just because we made the finals this year gives no guarantee of future success, just ask Perth. I can't see any of the top 4 dropping away any time soon and some of the clubs that Swans finished ahead of this year will be pushing for finals in 2022, East Fremantle in particular.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by mikeh.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 6 days ago #212742

  • Roman
  • Offline
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 906
  • Thank you received: 123

Viper in relation to Pickering, I must admit that I have had my doubts about him but the results this year speak for themselves. From what I have seen at the ground, the players seem to be on board with his message and the power brokers at the club certainly believe that he is the man for the job so really who am I to question his coaching? I guess the challenge now is to keep raising the bar for improvement as just because we made the finals this year gives no guarantee of future success, just ask Perth. I can't see any of the top 4 dropping away any time soon and some of the clubs that Swans finished ahead of this year will be pushing for finals in 2022, East Fremantle in particular.

Well Subi won't be.
 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 1 day ago #212907

  • Siam Swan 1961
  • Siam Swan 1961's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Thank you received: 4
Well done to Swanees Colts today. Two point win over a very gallant East Freo side !!!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Beasley Hutton

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Swans season review 2021 3 weeks 1 day ago #212914

  • Freezin
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 8137
  • Thank you received: 754
Congrats to the SD youngsters for getting the win, looked like a game of two halves....EF asleep at the wheel for the first and SD in the second......did anyone here brave the elements and watch the game...BH?.....the 2nd quarter delayed to lightning.....good luck for next week.....

Be interested to see if Cl gun colt Jacob Van Rooyen can ice his 3rd consecutive game...did v SD in the 2nd Semi, v SA on Sat.....can he do it again....or does SD put Bazzo on him for good measure....looks like another wet one though....good luck 
The following user(s) said Thank You: Siam Swan 1961

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Freezin.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Moderators: Beasley Hutton

Search

Keyword

Who's Online?

We have 999 guests and 4 members online

  • Blunder
  • Demons Forever
  • westaussieguy

Newest Footy Recruits

  • CarolineMads
  • Forry Rhino
  • Mumstheword
  • skilfulhunter
  • BassendeanAFC